Being constantly connected to the world is great, except when your world revolves around someone you don’t want to see anymore. Facebook is trying to fix that though, and announced a new tool today that will “help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended.”
Now when Facebook users update their relationship status after a breakup, they’ll be asked if they’d like to see less of their ex without having to unfriend or block them. Using this option will stop your ex’s posts from making it to your News Feed and won’t suggest their name as someone to tag in your photos.
You can also limit which of your content your exes can see, and edit or untag yourself from any (or every) past post you share with them. While you could do all of this before, this new tool guides you through the process and can edit posts and tags in batches, so you don’t have to go through every individual post if you decide to stay connected to your ex. All of these features are totally optional though, so if you end with someone on good terms, you can leave things as they are.
The feature is currently only being tested in the United States on mobile devices, but will be released to the general public in the future.