Electric Vehicles photo

The FIA World Motorsport Council recently approved a second 11-race season for the Formula E series, which will have 10 teams competing in 2015-16. While the number of races remains the same, there are a few new locations.

The streets of Paris will host a race next April, and London will host two back-to-back races at the end of the season. The UK gets an early peek at the racers too, since track testing will be at Donington Park in August. There’s one race still to be determined; officials are hoping to fill the March date with a race in North America. Last year, Miami hosted before the Long Beach Grand Prix, but it appears the city isn’t in the running for 2016.

Here’s the rundown of dates and locations for the second season of Formula E, which again begins in Beijing:

  • October 17, 2015: Beijing, China
  • November 7, 2015: Putrajaya, Malaysia
  • December 19, 2015: Punta del Este, Uruguay
  • February 6, 2016: Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • March 19, 2016: TBD
  • April 2, 2016: Long Beach, California
  • April 23, 2016: Paris, France
  • May 21, 2016: Berlin, Germany
  • June 4, 2016: Moscow, Russia
  • TBD: Two races in London, UK

Also new this year is the ability for teams to supply their own powertrains. In the first season, everything in the car was supplied for the teams and inalterable to keep costs reasonably on par for a new motorsport field. For the second season, powertrains are up for tweaking and redesign — within FIA parameters, of course — as part of the planned growth of the series. Look for more design and component rules to open up in the future.