SHARE

The government shutdown marches on. Curious about who’s furloughed and how they’re broadcasting it, we emailed some employees of the government agencies we cover regularly, from NASA to the U.S. Geological Survey to the Environmental Protection Agency. Here are all the auto-replies we got back (plus one awesome human reply):

From: Cowley, Jane <jane_cowley@nps.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 4:05 PM
Subject: Out of Office Re: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: suzanne.labarre@bonniercorp.com

_ _

From: Dennis Feltgen – NOAA Federal <dennis.feltgen@noaa.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 1:40 PM
Subject: Out of office due to furlough Re: media request: Popular Science article about hurricane prediction
To: shaunacyferro@gmail.com

_ _

From: Robertson, Jessica <jrobertson@usgs.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 1:37 PM
Subject: Out of the Office – Automatic Reply Re: Popular Science
To: colin.lecher@bonniercorp.com

_ _

From: McMakin, Barbara (NIH/NINDS) [E] <barbara.mcmakin@nih.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 1:43 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: media request: Popular Science story on CTE study
To: Shaunacy Ferro <shaunacyferro@gmail.com>

_ _

From: Williams, Leslie A. (DFRC-T) <leslie.a.williams@nasa.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 1:38 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: Popular Science Shutdown Inquiry
To: Kelsey Atherton <kelsey.d.atherton@gmail.com>

_ _

From: Feinstein, Ross <Ross.Feinstein@tsa.dhs.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 6:05 PM
Subject: RE: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

_ _

From: Huergo, Jennifer <jennifer.huergo@nist.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 5:41 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

_ _

From: Saghafi, Michelle <Michelle.Saghafi@oc.usda.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 5:26 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

_ _

From: <public.affairs@dot.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 4:51 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: suzanne.labarre@popsci.com

_ _

From: Steinberg, Gary E – BLS <Steinberg.Gary@bls.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 4:47 PM
Subject: Out of Office: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

_ _

From: Bock, Robert (NIH/NICHD) [E] <bockr@exchange.nih.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 3:41 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: Popular Science– press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

_ _

From: CEQ-Press <Press@ceq.eop.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 3:39 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

_ _

From: Urschel, Donna <durschel@loc.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 3:20 PM
Subject: Out of Office: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

_ _

From: BURKE, JENNY L <JENNY.LYNN.BURKE@cbp.dhs.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 1:38 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: Popular Science Shutdown Inquiry
To: Kelsey Atherton <kelsey.d.atherton@gmail.com>

_ _

From: Rodriguez, Elias <Rodriguez.Elias@epa.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 1:37 PM
Subject: Automatic reply: EPA Finalizes Cleanup Plan for Gowanus Canal Superfund Site in Brooklyn, New York
To: Dan Nosowitz <daniel.nosowitz@bonniercorp.com>

_ _

And in response to our email soliciting “auto-replies from the government agencies that are shut down right now,” we got this from the U.S. Agency for International Development:

From: Sam Ostrander <sostrander@usaid.gov>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 5:00 PM
Subject: Re: Popular Science — press inquiry
To: Suzanne LaBarre <suzanne.labarre@popsci.com>

MORE TO READ